To accommodate users' privacy concerns, FogBugz should support thorough removal of discussion group topics, posts, and poster information.
From time to time, users contact us to remove discussion group topics or posts that contained private information. We have to explain to them that FogBugz will continue to display the discussion group topic to anyone who connects from the same IP address as the poster.
In the many years we've used FogBugz, we have NEVER, EVER needed to delete a topic or post in such a way that anyone can still see it.
Furthermore, removing a post does not remove contact information associated with that post. Search engine links to contact forms associated with deleted posts, containing names of users, remain active.
When we need to delete topics or posts:
We want the topic to be removed from everyone's view.
We want the poster to be able to CONFIRM that the post or topic has been deleted.
We DON'T want contact information associated with deleted posts to remain publicly accessible.